Ph.D. at the Christian Medical College, Vellore

Several faculty and departments across the institution are recognized for Ph.D. programmes under the Tamil Nadu Dr. MGR Medical University; Thiruvalluvar University and Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology (SCTIMST).

CMC does not have a central single admission for Ph.D.s unlike the policy for all other courses. Ph.D. candidates are selected/ recommended for Ph.D. registration by their guides, with whom they have generally worked for a period of time before applying for Ph.D. registration. The guidelines for registration are given below. CMC is compliant with the policies and procedures of the Tamil Nadu Dr. MGR Medical University; Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology (SCTIMST) and Thiruvalluvar University therefore it is suggested that all candidates read the University policies regarding registration, methodology examination, synopsis submission, thesis submission, consolidated reports and public viva voce examination very carefully at the time of registration and frequently during their research. The Principal’s Office will communicate any major changes in University policy, but candidates should also keep checking the University websites for changes and updates. For any queries, please contact the Research Office at

Ph.D. Registration Guidelines

Ph.D. registration guidelines in CMC and other University affiliation

Enclosing the respective University official website;

Dr. M.G.R. Medical University official web site.

Sree Chitra Thirunal Institute of Medical Sciences.

Thiruvalluvar University official web site.


Candidates intending to do research can get a fellowship by working in a project or obtain an individual fellowship from the following Granting bodies.

Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) - Junior Research Fellowships (JRF) *

Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) - Senior Research Fellowships (SRF) & Research Associateship (RA) *

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) *

University Grants Commission (UGC) *

Department of Bio-Technology (DBT) *

Department of Science and Technology (DST) - Young Scientist (YS) *